NCCE Okere District's promotes civic awareness to students

The inauguration and induction of Okere District Assembly members have taken place at the District Assembly hall. The occasion was attended by the Hon. Felicia Anane-Antwi (Judge, Mampong District Court); Government representatives; Okere District Chief Executive; District Coordinating Director; Heads of Department; Assembly Members Elect; Clergy; Chiefs amongst others.

The entire Okere District NCCE staff was present while the Director, Mr. Alexander Godfried Bonney was the MC for the occasion.

The Okere District NCCE Office presented students from the Adukrom Methodist J.H.S to observe the procedure.

There were 21 elected Assembly members. 16 Males and 5 females, an indication of an increase in female participation compared to the previous election.

The five (5) elected female Assembly members were:

1. Hon. Rita Elikem Sarblah (Asenema Krutiase Electoral Area)

2. Hon. Esther Asamoah (Adukrom Methodist Electoral Area)

3. Hon. Belinda Adjei (Awukugua Alemeso Electoral Area)

4. Hon. Agartha Ansong Mpere ( Awukugua Electoral Area)

5. Fernanda Larbi Amankwah ( Akyeremanteng Electoral Area)

The District Chief Executive of the Okere District, Hon. Daniel Kenneth Addo urged elected Assembly Members to be selfless, dedicated to duty, loyal, united, and hardworking. He elaborated on revenue mobilisation/collection, reviving stalled government businesses in the district.

The Assembly members were also tasked to work for the benefit of the community at large.

The government representative in his address charged the newly elected Assembly members to demonstrate high-quality leadership, be accountable to community members, and also ensure active participation of community members in decision-making. He urged them to deepen their engagement by consulting and collating the views of community members on issues. He urged them to deepen their engagement by consulting and collating the views of community members on issues to be discussed during Assembly meetings. The Assembly Members were entreated to ensure that executed projects fall in line with government policies following the provisions in the Local Governance Act, sections 9, 8, 10, 12, 16, 24, and 27.

The entire procedure was by the Local Governance Act 936. Only two people filed for the Presiding Member nominations. They were allowed to give a 2 mins speech after which the election was held. However, none was able to secure two-thirds of the majority vote so there was a run-off. After voting for the second time, Hon. Gadasu emerged as the winner.


Follow us on our social media pages for more stories and posts from the NCCE.





    Leave a comment