The National Commission for Civic Education (NCCE) hosted a 12-member delegation from the Namibian African Peer Review Mechanism (APRM) at the Commission's Head Office in Accra.

The delegation from Namibia is on a benchmarking visit to Ghana to understudy Ghana’s development and implementation of a National Plan of Action.

Deputy Chairman in charge of Operations at NCCE, Mr. Samuel Asare Akuamoah, who is also a Member of the Governing Council, National African Peer Review Mechanism, received the delegation and together with some management staff took the APRM team through the mandate, functions, and operations of NCCE. He described the visit as a unique one considering Ghana's close and long-standing relationship with Namibia.

Mr. Akuamoah said, as an institution, the NCCE played a critical role in Ghana's APRM as the Commission hosted the district oversight committees of the APRM. He noted that since the establishment of the Commission, it had been influential in sustaining the country's constitution for over three decades, emphasising the importance of collaboration with key institutions.

Mr. Akuamoah, raised concern about the growing insecurity on the continent, particularly in the West African sub-region. He charged regional leaders to do more to address the challenges of the people to minimise the occurrence of coup d'états.

The Leader of the Delegation, Mr. Lineekela J. Mboti, stated that it was important that the APRM-Namibia engaged experienced countries who had implemented the programme for years to learn from them. "We are in the process of mainstreaming the APRM processes in our country, in our governance system and therefore, we thought we should come to Ghana because you are a founding member of the APRM and we wanted to understand the challenges you have encountered in the implementation of the APRM in the country.

He described the mission to Ghana as “a productive” one, adding that they would try their best to make APRM–Namibia a success story.

In attendance from the Office of the Prime Minister, Namibia and the APRM were Hildegard Kuzatijike, Jecinta Matengu, Wilfried I. Emvula, Anna Shatika, Festus Hangula, Perpetua Acquah, Patrick Adu Osei, Winniefred Akoto-Sampong, Alfons Witbeen and Wilhencia Uiras

Also in attendance from the NCCE was the Acting Commission Secretary; Mrs Lucille Hewlett Annan, the Director of Programmes, Communications and Corporate Affairs, Research, Finance, and Administration respectively; Dr Imurana Mohammed, Madam Joyce Afutu, Madam Henrietta Asante-Sarpong, Madam Monica Mammatah, and Madam Dora Hammond.


Follow us on our social media pages for more stories and posts from the NCCE.









    Leave a comment