About Us

The National Commission for Civic Education is an independent, non-partisan governance institution set up under Article 231 of the Constitution of the Republic of Ghana.
The Commission works to promote and sustain democracy and inculcate in the Ghanaian citizenry, the awareness of their rights and obligations, through civic education.


  1. Create and sustain within the society the awareness of the principles and objectives of the 1992 fourth Republican  Constitution  as the fundamental law of the people of Ghana;
  2. Educate and encourage the public to defend the  Constitution at all times, against all forms of abuse and  violation;
  3. Formulate for the consideration of Government, from time to time, programmes at the national, regional, and district levels aimed at realising the objectives of  the 1992 fourth Republican Constitution;
  4. Formulate, implement and oversee programmes intended to inculcate in the citizens of Ghana awareness of their civic responsibilities and an appreciation of their rights and obligations as free people; and
  5. To assess for the information of Government, the limitations to the achievement of true democracy arising from the existing inequalities between different strata of the population and make recommendations for redressing these inequalities.


The Commission is made up of a Chairman, two Deputy Chairman, and four Commission members. The seven Commission members constitute the governing body of the Commission. The Commission members are supported by five (5) Departmental Directors who have direct responsibility for the departments of the Commission, namely:

  1. Finance
  2. Administration
  3. Programmes
  4. Communications and Corporate Affairs
  5. Research (with Gender and Equality unit


The Commission has sixteen (16) Regional Offices headed by Regional Directors who coordinate the Commission’s work in our Regional and 260 District offices across the country.


 8,395 total views,  32 views today